ADVERTISEMENT

Icemen Blog / Oct 28th

malecki

Aug 5, 2008
Contemplating Spring and thought about why I got into Basketball in the first place. I love the game! Always have. I've never coached for the $. My first 10 years I barely made anything. Put in all sorts of time, clinics, camps, practices, etc. PAID MY DUES. I helped alot of players and never expected anything. I remember a fantastic coach, Ed Goorjian (Crescenta Valley HS) talking about two practice a day in the summer and never making a dime. That's what you did! You learned, experimented, became better.

As I began to Coach you learned from fantastic people. My mentors, Tony Carter Loza, Doug Mitchell, Dave Yanai, Rick Sabosky and many more. These coaches took time to mentor, challenge, and teach me how to coach. But, most importantly learn to "coach to my personality". Those that knew me as a young coach, I was a "hot head". Those that see me know don't realize how much I've mellowed. But I'm still competitive.

I see many getting in the game for a Money grab. Not learning, not paying dues. Guys that I know quit everything they were ever involved in are "training" and doing well. Parents need to wake up and do their homework. What is a good coach anymore and most importantly who knows if a guy can coach or not? It's like travel ball right now. It started to showcase the ELITE players in the game. Now every Tom, Dick and Harry are playing travel. You can't see the forest thru the trees.